Merging Customers In Dynamics 365 Business Central

Originally posted on March 18, 2020

There are times where users will create a duplicate customer that then needs to be merged together with another customer. If the duplicated record doesn't have any open or historical transactions then the easy thing would just be delete the duplicate, however if there is already transactions created then you'll have to merge the two records.

To merge two customers in Dynamics 365 Business Central you'll first have to locate the two customer cards. In my case I have Trey Research duplicated as shown below.




Since customer '10000' is the one I want to keep I'll open that customer card and navigate to Actions > Functions > Merge With. Note that only users with the Merge Duplicates permission set can use this functionality.




Within the Merge Duplicate window you will populate the Merge With field with the vender you'd like to merge with. Next step is to review the data and decide if you'd like to override the data with the Merge With customer. Once you've completed your review you can click Merge to complete the customer merge.





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

My DynamicsCon experience

How to use MICR fonts in Dynamics 365 Business Central AND modify the check layout

Voiding a check in Dynamics 365 Business Central